The struggle within

Serenity by definition is
the state or quality of being serene, calm, or tranquil. This is a state I most often am not. I’d like to blame outside forces but mine is strictly internal. I’d like to say I can and will change but as much as I try I can’t control myself.
Courage by definition is the ability and willingness to confront fear, pain, danger, uncertainty, or intimidation. Everyday I wake and tell myself “confront what hurts you, what scares you” but everyday I am weak. Uncertain. Fearful.
Wisdom by definition is the ability to think and act using knowledge, experience, understanding, common sense, and insight. Wisdom comes with maturity. I would like to think I am wise yet at times I am just as clueless as a child. My head is over run by my heart so wisdom is pushed aside. I am now uncertain of things because feelings cloud my judgement.
So I ask you to remind me every so often these 3 sentences…
God grant me the serenity to accept things I cannot change
Courage to change the things I can
And most importantly
Wisdom to know the difference.
3 things…seems easy enough but if I don’t wrap my head around the first word “serenity” I will never have the other two.

Leave a Reply

